The Flushing Town Hall Family: Introducing Caryn Cooper

We’d like you introduce you today to a member of our family: Caryn Cooper.IMG_0024

At Flushing Town Hall, Caryn was initially the Education Administrator for two years, and then returned this spring as the Education Coordinator. In this role, she works with schools to schedule workshops, assemblies, and attendance as part of our school performance series.

Previously, Caryn worked for a number of arts organizations, such as Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater, Ballet Hispanico, 92Y, and the New York City Center, in a number of administrative roles.

As a dancer, she studied ballet in the Royal Academy of Dance (RAD) for eight years, in addition to training in tap, jazz, and West African dance, and has had the opportunity to perform at a number of venues in the New York City area, including at The Wild Project, Brooklyn Arts Exchange, Central Park, Tilles Center for the Performing Arts, the Frederick Lowe Theater, and Radio City Music Hall.

She is currently a member of the National Dance Education Organization (NDEO), the New York State Dance Education Association (NYSDEA) and the Dance/NYC Junior Committee.

What is your favorite feature of Flushing Town Hall?

The best part of Flushing Town Hall is the garden, especially on a nice spring day!

What childhood hobby did you enjoy the most?

I’m not sure if I had one I enjoyed more than another, but I definitely loved playing instruments, dancing, and riding my bike.

What’s your hobby now?

I love to crochet! If you need a scarf or a blanket let me know!

What’s your favorite song?

There are so many good songs out there! But one that I like to listen to with my dad is “My Girl” by The Temptations.

If you could bring ANY performer to Flushing Town Hall, who would it be?

I would love to bring American Ballet Theatre. I love the classical ballets. It is a goal of mine to see all the classics.

What were your best and worst subjects in school?

My best subject was Social Studies/History. My worst subjects were Science and Math (yuck!)

What is your secret pleasure?

I really like to bake.

If you could be a superhero, who would it be?

Iron Man is pretty cool.

When you step away for a bite to eat in Flushing, where do you go to?

I normally go out for a drink of bubble tea. It just tastes better here. However, Dumpling Galaxy is pretty good, too. They have almost every kind of dumpling.

Mac or PC?

I can use either, but I like it when both are compatible. It’s very frustrating to do something in one program and have it not work in the other!

Leave a Reply

