The Flushing Town Hall Family: Introducing Jay House

This week, we’d like to introduce you to Jay House. Jay is our Grants Manager, which means she writes proposals and reports for most of the fundraising that helps keep the doors open here. She’s a new arrival, starting with us in July of this year.

What is your favorite feature of Flushing Town Hall?

I love the exterior architecture. My daughter calls it “The Castle!”

What childhood hobby did you enjoy the most?

11257152_10206805844203016_6235615636346312249_n

I’m not one to pick favorites, but I loved reading, especially anything about girls in history, such as Little House on the Prairie, The Little Princess, or All of a Kind Family. I also loved to play dress up and to play with dolls.

What’s your hobby now?

I started running a few years ago, and I love it! I never knew how much energy I really had, and how good it would feel to run!

What’s your favorite song?

Oh, gosh, again with the favorites! I don’t have one favorite song but here are a few that always get me singing: The Lady is a Tramp (Ella Fitzgerald); Under Pressure (Queen/David Bowie); Communication Breakdown (Led Zeppelin), Luck Be a Lady (Frank Sinatra); and, Call Any Vegetable (Frank Zappa)

If you could bring ANY performer to Flushing Town Hall, who would it be?

Dr. Dog or Kamasi Washington

 What were your best and worst subjects in school?

Best: English; Worst: Math

What is your secret pleasure?

I love to walk in the city. I once walked from Flushing to Astoria. I have walked from the Garment District to Astoria. Walking a city gives you a very unique and personal view of its inner workings.

When you step away for a bite to eat in Flushing, where do you crave going to?

The New World Mall Food Court! Or anywhere new, because there is always something great to discover in Flushing.

What’s performance made the biggest impression on you?

When I was a kid, my mom and grandmother took me to a production of Guys and Dolls. I loved it so much, they had to hold onto my shirt to keep me from falling out of the balcony.

Who was – or is – your role model for a life well-lived?

Auntie Mame

Mac or PC?

Linux

 

 

Leave a Reply

